Warrior (Legacy Fleet Trilogy, #2)

Warrior

November 2, 2018

I liked it (****)
This was a good read, but, in my opinion, not quite as good as the first one in the series. I found it entertaining enough to read the next book in the series.

Constitution (Legacy Fleet Trilogy, #1)

Constitution: (Legacy Fleet Trilogy #1)

by

October 31, 2018
it was amazing (*****)

I do like a number of military fiction, especially when it is science fiction as well. I read the blurb and thought it sounded like a good read, so I got it…and read it…in two days.

I couldn’t put it down! When I managed to, I found myself being anxious to get back into the story. There’s lots of action, offset by some funny moments to break up the tension. There is plenty of tension. I had to force myself to relax, in places, just to quit grinding my teeth. I found this story to be quite unique. I don’t think I’ve read anything like it.Being a sci-fi reader of Herbert, Scalzi, Heinlein, Asimov, others, I’ve read a lot of stories.

I think anyone who enjoys good science fiction, old-school and otherwise, should read, and enjoy, this book…in my humble opinion.


Vigilante by Cliff Deane


Vigilante: Into the Darkness: American Post Apocalyptic EMP Thriller 
by

Cliff Deane (Goodreads Author)
Jul 27, 2018
it was amazing (*****)
Really enjoyed this book! The story was quite good and was told with level of detail that kept my attention throughout. Good characters and plots well thought out. There was a level of grittiness that may not be acceptable to younger readers, but it was very believable.

July 19, 2018
I liked it (****)
I liked it. I like books that have kick-ass characters and interesting storyline. This book has that…in spades. I had a hard time putting it down. Best of all, no zombies.
June 23, 2018
I liked it (****)
Being an avid reader of sci-fi, this book pulled me in and kept my attention. The premise is different and somewhat original. The ending was different than I expected. The technical details are done well without being boring. Some of the references I found surprising and somewhat nostalgic. There were places that bogged down my reading and caused a little confusion, but the interest is there for the next installment. All in all, a good read.

The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson
The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire, #1) 
by

Jun 01, 2018

it was amazing (*****)

 

After watching all seven seasons of “Longmire”, and being a fan, I decided I wanted to see how similar the books were with the series.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were some similarities and a lot of differences. The characters were more developed and, since I watched the series, I felt like I knew them already.

Having lived in Montana (not too far from the Wyoming border, the descriptions of the weather and the topography were something I could identify with.

The storytelling was exemplary and the writing was down-to-earth. All-in-all, it was a very enjoyable read and I look forward to reading more of Mister Johnson’s work.


Power and Pretense by P.S. Winn
Power and Pretense 
by

P.S. Winn (Goodreads Author)

May 27, 2018

really liked it (****)

This was my first book by this author. It was outside my normal reading preference as well. That being said, I liked the story. Things in the news today, concerning the President, made it seem more real, for me. The character’s political views seemed to be accurate, or rather, my imaginings of what their political views would be. Having never dealt with the FBI, it’s hard for me to say.

At least one description nailed it for me, having lived in Montana, as real, even though the town’s name was not real. Another was the comment on Montana weather, which those who live there know is, at best, unpredictable, especially in April.

All-in-all it was an enjoyable read and I’ll be looking for more books from this author.


The Servants by Janine R. Pestel
The Servants 
by

Janine R. Pestel (Goodreads Author)
May 27, 2018
really liked it (****)
This short horror story belongs in The Twilight Zone. The twist on the servbots is very Rod Serling. It was a little too short, for my taste. Would have liked there to be more. All-in-all, a good story. I liked it!

The Desert Botanist by Jennifer  Stone
The Desert Botanist ( The Mortal Orphan #3) 
by

Jennifer Stone (Goodreads Author)
Apr 04, 2018
really liked it (****)
Read 2 times

 

I’ve read and enjoyed all three of the submissions by this author. I enjoy her imagination and her writing style. All three books are enjoyable and easy to read. Each shows plenty of imagination, well-described scenery, and exquisite world-building skills.

The Earth Priestess by Jennifer  Stone
The Earth Priestess ( The Mortal Orphan #2) 
by

Jennifer Stone (Goodreads Author)
Mar 13, 2018
really liked it (****)
Good second book in the series. An enjoyable read.

You Have the Right to Remain Innocent by James Duane
You Have the Right to Remain Innocent 
by

Mar 13, 2018
really liked it (****)
Very informative! Something I wished I’d read years ago.

The Slave Girl by Jennifer  Stone
The Slave Girl (The Mortal Orphan Book 1) 
by

Jennifer Stone (Goodreads Author)
Mar 13, 2018
really liked it (****)
Read 2 times

 

Very well written and easy to follow. Plenty of surprises. Shows the author uses her imagination and clearly conveys it to the reader.

The Pirates of the Asteroids by Therese Martin
Nov 07, 2017
really liked it (****)

 

I liked this book better than the first book in the series. The writing was pretty good as was the story. This book was written for Young Adults and I wish there were more books of this type when I was a young adult. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series.

The Rustlers of Alpha Colony by Therese Martin
The Rustlers of Alpha Colony: Book One of the Alpha Chronicles 
by

Nov 05, 2017
really liked it (****)
I found this book to be a definite YA adventure read. It was well-written and shows the author to be highly imaginative and articulate. I also found the premise of religious persecution and emigration indicative of the founding of America, which is a story that seems to be getting lost in these modern times. The story had a nice integration of history with the future.

The Dispatcher by John Scalzi
The Dispatcher 
by

John Scalzi (Goodreads Author),
Zachary Quinto (Narrator)
Oct 23, 2017
it was amazing (*****)

 

Being a John Scalzi fan, I was disappointed by the length of The Dispatcher. That being said, I found it to be engaging and immersive. There were no “bad” guys or “good” guys. All the characters were realistic and flawed. The concept was interesting and unique.

Remedy by K.J. Simmill
Remedy (The Forgotten Legacies Series Book 3) 
by

K.J. Simmill (Goodreads Author)
Sep 03, 2017
it was amazing (*****)

 

I have read all three books of this series and they just keep getting better. I can safely say that I am a fan of this author and her writing style. I found the characters real and relatable. Descriptions are full and rich. The entire book was immersive. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes high adventure stories laced with legends and magic.

Josiah Trenchard and the Morgenstern by Jonathon Fletcher
Josiah Trenchard and the Morgenstern (Space Navy #2) 
by

Jonathon Fletcher (Goodreads Author)
May 07, 2017
really liked it (****)

 

I read the first book in the series and it sorta had me hooked. This one finished the job. Now, I gotta read the third one. The intrigue has me.

Josiah Trenchard and the Might of Fortitude by Jonathon Fletcher
Josiah Trenchard and the Might of Fortitude (Space Navy #1) 
by

Jonathon Fletcher (Goodreads Author)

May 06, 2017

really liked it (****)
Read 2 times

 

What do you read when you tire of the cerebral, or the prissy, feel-good stories? For me, I like a good butt-kicking, action yarn. If you’re like me, then you’ll enjoy this novella. At the beginning is a warning for adult content, but don’t let that get your panties in a bunch (or in a twist, if you prefer). Having been a sailor in the Navy, I can tell you Jonathon Fletcher cleaned up the language…a lot (yes, I’ve heard far worse in my time in the military).

I found the story to be compelling, the characters unique, and the plot easy to follow. The language, though written in British English was easy to follow for anyone who enjoys Doctor Who (no dictionary required). There was plenty of hard-hitting action as well as intrigue that spoke of further adventures.

Overall, I enjoyed it immensely and can’t wait to read the next one.


Stealing Time by K.J. Waters
Stealing Time (Stealing Time #1) 
by

K.J. Waters (Goodreads Author)
Apr 20, 2017
really liked it (****)
This was a unique view of time travel. I found it to be compelling and immersive. There are characters you like and others that are unlikable. The one big question that is raised is how a Twenty-First Century woman would be treated in the Eighteenth Century and how they would handle those differences. Even though there are some adult language, themes, and ideas presented, they weren’t overly graphic and helped to paint a more realistic picture of life today as well as in the Eighteenth Century.

Beyond Yesterday by Greg Spry
Beyond Yesterday (Beyond Saga, #3) 
by

Greg Spry (Goodreads Author)
Jun 29, 2017
it was amazing (*****)

 

This is the third book by this talented author. If you’ve read, and enjoyed, the first two books in the series, then you won’t be disappointed with this one. Spry does an excellent job of twisting the plots at the right time, usually when you’re sure where the story is going. Characters are vivid and colorful. He blurs the lines between good and evil in such a way that the reader questions their perceptions of what constitutes these ideas.

If you haven’t read the first two books, you can pick up on what went on, but, from my perspective, you’ll miss a lot. I had a difficult time putting down each book to do other things, like eating and sleeping. I’m looking forward to the next book.


Beyond the Horizon by Greg Spry
Beyond the Horizon (Beyond Saga, #2) 
by

Greg Spry (Goodreads Author)
Feb 22, 2017
it was amazing (*****)

 

After reading “Beyond Cloud Nine”, Greg Spry’s first book in this series, I was left wondering what was going to happen next with the characters and their situations and relationships. I also had a level of expectation for any following books.

“Beyond the Horizon”, the second book in the series, did not disappoint. I found it to be compelling, imaginative, and immersive. There were plenty of plot twists and political intrigues to satisfy, at least until the next book in the series. The characters all have real faults and failings and they come through very well in the reading. Two words sum it up nicely…”too fused!”


Beyond Cloud Nine by Greg Spry
Beyond Cloud Nine (Beyond Saga, #1) 
by

Greg Spry (Goodreads Author)
Feb 05, 2017
it was amazing (*****)

 

Overall, an excellent read. A great story with lots of action sequences. The characters are as real as is possible with their own frailties and strengths. It kept me guessing where it was going and maintained my interest throughout. I had a very hard time putting it down. I’d recommend it any sci-fi readers.

The Severaine by K.J. Simmill
The Severaine 
by

K.J. Simmill (Goodreads Author)
Aug 23, 2016
it was amazing (*****)
Read 2 times. Last read October 21, 2016 to December 28, 2016.

 

As much as I enjoyed K.J, Simmill’s “Darrienia”, it was still the typical first book in a series, even though it was very atypical in content and scope. That being said, I don’t think I’ve read a story so intricate and sweeping in scope as “The Severaine”. I found it to be engaging, well thought out, well written, and highly researched. The characters are distinctive and unique. I gave it 5 stars, but it deserves a higher rating than that…6 or 7 stars at least. It is a book that I’ll be re-reading, many times.

The Slave Girl by Jennifer  Stone
The Slave Girl 
by

Jennifer Stone (Goodreads Author)
Sep 29, 2016
it was amazing (*****)
Read 2 times. Last read September 23, 2016 to September 28, 2016.

 

Taya believes she is no-one special; just a servant. After being beaten and left destitute, she begins her life anew, and alone. When she has visions of ancient battles, Taya seeks the reason, revealing a destiny more important than she could ever hope for. The Gods of Jagwraith are angry; after being forgotten and ignored for centuries, they have become vengeful. Destruction threatens the country of Canderra and only the Mortal Orphan can prevent it. Is Taya the human descendant of the Gods? Can a slave girl save the world?

This book, at times, reads like that special, neglected book you found in a darkened corner of a dusty, old bookstore. You expect it to have a worn, leather binding with calligraphic titles. That old fairytale from when you were a child. The rest of the time, it’s modern, fresh, and new. You could say it is an old fairytale that is new and you never heard of it, but you did.

I found the characters memorable, the story imaginative, immersive, and engaging, and was disappointed when it ended; I wanted to know more about the characters and their on-going stories. It’s a story that’s just as engaging the third time you read it as it was the first time.


Darrienia by K.J. Simmill
Darrienia (The Forgotten Legacies Series Book 1) 
by

K.J. Simmill (Goodreads Author)
Oct 21, 2016
it was amazing (*****)

 

Very well written and immersive epic fantasy. Great characters with plenty of action. It was difficult to put it down and disappointing when I reached the end. Simmill has created a world that pulls you in and won’t let go. I can’t wait to start the next installment of this story.

The Waters of Nyra by Kelly Michelle Baker
The Waters of Nyra: Volume II 
by

Kelly Michelle Baker (Goodreads Author)
Mar 14, 2016
it was amazing (*****)

 

I don’t know, maybe it’s me. I’d heard that critics and publishers don’t like stories of talking animals for adults. While reading both ‘Nyra’ books, I had a hard time remembering that the characters were dragons. I think I became so involved in the action and the interplay of the characters that I forgot they weren’t human people. Very few authors have that capability. Ms. Baker is definitely one of the few.
Kudos for bringing such a good story to life.

The Waters of Nyra by Kelly Michelle Baker
The Waters of Nyra: Volume I 
by

Kelly Michelle Baker (Goodreads Author)

Mar 14, 2016

it was amazing (*****)

 

What a good book! I was impressed by the amount of thought that went into the characters and the settings and how they’re all connected. Baker has her characters try to answer the same questions we all have asked. Questions like, ‘At what age do you get to be involved in adult decisions?’ She has her characters dealing with the sudden loss of a ‘normal’ life, through various means and causes.

There is also plenty of suspense and adventure to make reading it a pleasure. It did come as a shock when I got to the end…and had to start Book 2 right away…

Kudos, to Baker!


Chains of Blood and Steel by Karen  Gray
Chains of Blood and Steel: The Saga of Thistles and Roses (The Warrior Queen, #2) 
by

Karen Gray (Goodreads Author)

Dec 12, 2015

it was amazing (*****)
Book 2 of the “Warrior Queen” was tremendously entertaining. I found it be compelling and addictive.
Karen Gray is a fantastic author and is a highly skilled story-teller. If you enjoyed the first book in the series, then you will enjoy this one.

For King and Country by Karen  Gray

For King and Country: The Saga of Thistles and Roses (The Warrior Queen, #1) 
by

Karen Gray (Goodreads Author)
Sep 03, 2015
it was amazing (*****)

 

After finishing Karen’s first book “For King and Country”, I was amazed that she hasn’t been picked up by a publisher yet. I was fascinated by the links to Scottish culture. The writing was superb and addictive. Her creativity and imagination are astounding. Before reading her work, I knew very little of Scotland or it’s people and culture. She has given me a whole new outlook and a fascination with the Scottish culture. Truly a wonderful read!

False Idols by Alexis Grove
False Idols (Aeon #1) 
by

Alexis Grove (Goodreads Author)
Sep 03, 2015
it was amazing (*****)

 

The main characters of “False Idols” are teenagers and young adults, which I thought would come off as trite and shallow for a mature reader like myself, but, happily, I was wrong. The book held me captive from the beginning. The explosive action starts immediately and carries the reader through to the end. Grove’s characterizations and plot development were excellent. The computer science was easily explained in an informative way and didn’t detract or slow the story-line, it adds to it and becomes a major element in the plot.

For a debut novel this is an exceptional read. Both the protagonist and the antagonist are strong well developed female characters who I found interesting. I was rooting for the protagonist, Sarah, all the time. Romance, religion, trans-humanism, and politics can be found in “False Idols”. The author has set up characters and plot-lines we will want to meet again.

Alexis Grove didn’t cheat on the descriptions, especially with Laura who I will always remember as a “villainess extraordinaire” and got me interested in what her back-story would be. I felt every important detail was put under a microscope and described in a concise, relevant manner. I found this book to be well written and I would recommend it to any reader, young-adult and older. The only bad thing about this book is it’s only Book 1. I am definitely anticipating reading Book 2.